Media Tours

NYC16 | Rates

Media Tours

NYC19 attendees have a chance to visit major media companies, network with their staffs and get a sneak peek behind the scenes of their operations through the Spring National College Media Convention’s media tours.

Please scroll down to see how to reserve your spot.

Confirmed tours to date (more being added soon!):

  • Bloomberg
    • Students will see the operations of Bloomberg Radio and Television. Bloomberg Radio operates four radio stations (NY, Washington, DC, Boston and San Francisco) – all from its NY headquarters. Additionally, the Bloomberg Radio Network provides business reports to 300 affiliates nationwide including all-news stations such as 1010WINS and WCBS in New York, and major stations in Chicago, Boston, Los Angeles, Philadelphia and elsewhere. Bloomberg Television also broadcasts from our NY headquarters. Bloomberg’s headquarters is housed in one of the tallest buildings in New York City. Bloomberg occupies the first 29 floors. Floors 32-55 consist of luxury condominiums. Famous residents have included Beyonce & Jay-Z, producer Joe Roth, billionaire Steven Cohen, New York Yankees Johnny Damon, and others.
  • ProPublica 
    • Come see this independent nonprofit newsroom, where some of today’s most in-depth, impactful investigative journalism is produced. More information:
  • WNET 
    • Visit the flagship PBS station for New York City’s metropolitan region: WNET, the parent company of THIRTEEN and WLIW21 and operator of NJTV Public Media. WNET produces and presents such acclaimed PBS series as Nature, Great Performances, American Masters, PBS NewsHour Weekend, and a range of documentaries, children’s programs, and local news and cultural offerings available on air and online. Pioneers in educational programming, WNET has created such groundbreaking series as Get the Math, Oh Noah! and Cyberchase, and provides tools for educators. WNET’s local productions include NYC-ARTS, Reel 13, NJTV News and MetroFocus. A tour will reveal how programs made here are delivered to your home.

Please note – due to security requirements at several media organizations, signups will be handled in advance this year. There will be NO onsite signups. 

How to sign up

Sign-ups will take place online over a limited window. Starting in late February there will be a 24 hour period when you can sign up at a link that will be posted here. That window is the ONLY time you can sign up for tours. Select the tour(s) you are interested in. You can select up to three tours. You will be entered into a lottery for the tour(s) you are interested in. Attendees will be randomly chosen and notified by email. You can sign up for up to three tours, but if you get spots in multiple tours, you will only be able to attend one. Please only select tours that you plan to attend. There can be no switches. You can only submit this form once. Please note, there will be NO onsite sign-ups this year.

How to confirm your tour

Once your tour confirmation email is sent, you must reply within 12 hours of the time stamp affirming that you plan to attend. If you decline the tour for any reason or if you don’t reply within 12 hours, your spot will be reassigned. Tour assignments are not transferable and cannot be exchanged or traded.

How to attend your tour

You will be notified if you will be walking or using mass transit to reach your host site. If you are using mass transit, obtain your own MetroCard in advance of your tour. Your tour will not stop for you to purchase a MetroCard on the way. Students have been left behind because they were delayed in purchasing a MetroCard.

Arrive at your meeting point at least 10 minutes prior to your tour’s departure. Students on the waiting list should arrive at this time as well. Students who are not at the meeting point (not “on the way”) at the time of the tour start will be replaced by students on the waiting list. If previously confirmed students arrive after the chaperone has taken waiting list students, the original students can only join the tour if there is still space remaining at that point. Only students who are on the original list or on the specific tour waiting list may attend the tour–those are the only names submitted to the host site.


You must be registered for NYC19 to sign up. You must have a valid ID with you at the convention and on the tour. The name you fill out on the form must match the name on your ID.

Questions? Email